Kickbutt Tips to Keep You Motivated While Running – Part 2

Continuing with Runner’s World’s awesome list of motivators I’ll share what I’ve tried so far and what’s on my to-do list.

Tried

 

  1. Buddy Up. I’ve run solo and with a partner. Both have their places. For the long runs, especially the first few you attempt, it helps having someone to keep you motivated by just being their with you. I ran my first 10m and felt great the whole time. I believe my running partner contributed greatly to that.
  2. Have a Daily Goal. These mini-challenges can keep you on task. I’m a fan of daily, weekly and distance goals. For example, I ran 5ks this morning before work. It was a nice, easy morning run I wanted to complete. Later this week I’ll run 4-5 miles, then I have a half marathon on Sunday. Additionally, as long-term goals go, I’ve signed up for a 4-race series this fall. Great way to stay motivated daily knowing I have 4 half marathons in my future!
  3. It’s Spring! Take advantage of the outdoors. You’re not forced to run on a treadmill! Early sunrises before the heat of the day and cool spring showers should get you enthusiastic to get out there and run.  take a second to recall how much fun running was as a kid. Why not prove to yourself running can be just as much fun now?
  4. Exercise improves sexual performance, according to research. Nuff said. Need a running mate? What’s you’re partner doing? 😉

To-Do

  1. Watch Chariots of Fire – The story of two British track athletes, one a determined Jew, and the other a devout Christian who compete in the 1924 Olympics. I can only imagine how hyped I’ll be to run after watching this.
  2. Make a massage appointment for the day after your long run. I love this idea. Perhaps I should schedule one for the Monday after my half. I encourage you to do the same. Meet a goal, then treat your body right.
  3. Run through a spring storm (or shower). Sans lightning. Living in Florida I’m sure I’ll have plenty of forthcoming opportunities. I skipped my chance last week. 1,000+ lightning strikes per hour kept me indoors cross-training on the recumbent bike and with pilates. Make sure you’ll have dry shoes for tomorrow’s run!
  4. Running commentary “A lot of people run a race to see who’s fastest. I run to see who has the most guts.” –Steve Prefontaine – I’m using this as a mantra for the Iron Girl, though just running it makes me believe we all have guts.
  5. Feel a need for speed. RW suggests “six to eight 200-meter repeats at your mile race pace.” I say, challenge a pack of kids at the playground to a few hard races. Kids are some of the most enthusiastic runners I know.

Bonus:

  • Run like a kid. Take a second to recall how much fun running was as a kid. Why not prove to yourself running can be just as much fun now?
